It’s Green Monster time!!!

22 Jul

I read my fair share of blogs, and I feel like everyone everywhere mentions making Green Monsters. Since I’m always looking for new healthy food ideas, I really wanted to try making one for myself! I bought organic spinach at the Farmers Market for this exact purpose and it had been sitting in my fridge waiting to be used since Sunday. Even though I was already running a few minutes late for work this morning, today was the day. I like to avoid coffee a few days before the tri so I can be sure I stay extra hydrated, so I figured the GM would be a nice replacement for my morning DunkinDonuts addiction. Into my (newly purchased!) blender went the spinach, flax seeds, a banana, some blueberries, vanilla soy milk and ice. I have to admit that, while being curious, I was a little skeptical of this concoction. Although I love all of the ingredients separately, I couldn’t quite imagine what they would taste like together. And when I started blending it and it all became this weird grayish greenish blue color….ehhh, I was starting to doubt the outcome.

This isn't my picture (I was in too much of a rush!) but I found this one online...it's pretty much the exact color of my smoothie!

I had to, HAD TO, stop the blender and stick a finger in to taste it. And it. Was. AMAZING! I take back those few seconds I doubted you, Green Monster! You were totally worth being a few more minutes late for work.

2 Responses to “It’s Green Monster time!!!”

  1. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day July 22, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    Hooray for another Green Monster fan! I have to admit I’m addicted to these. I crave them!

    Really enjoying reading your blog by the way. Best of luck on your tri!

    • bumblebeerunning July 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      I have a feeling I’ll be addicted too!
      Glad you like my blog, your comment made me smile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

